So long, farewell…

My favourite part about Luker so far has been the Figuring Out What You Think You Know section within chapter 7.  That exercise that she mentions is priceless.  Really.  I feel like even though I’d already done quite a bit of work on my research proposal, the idea of writing a memo to someone (I imagined it was to one of my past professors) helped me tie up so many loose ends that I was having difficulty stringing together.  It also brought up new loose ends, to my initial dismay, but then allowed for an outlet by which I could address them, so that now I don’t feel like I have to worry about it all as much.  I know she was talking about issues larger than just a proposal, but it helped all the same for our final assignment.

 On a different note, I just want to say that though Knight’s work has been helpful in a pragmatic sense, Luker’s exercises are what really spoke to me throughout this process and helped me not only develop my initial interest but, most importantly, become pretty gung-ho about it all.  So, if you’re out there in cyberspace, thanks Luker!

One Comment on “So long, farewell…”

  1. conor3 says:

    I found the memo-writing process very helpful as well! One of my favourite things about Luker’s book as a whole is the fact that it’s chock-full of useful tips for researchers who are just starting out. I’m quite happy with the way my research proposal turned out, but I know I would have been lost without the all practical advice contained in Social Dancing into the Social Sciences. I especially appreciated the way Luker broke down the research methodologies into different categories (interviews, focus groups, surveys, etc.) and discussed them on a case-by-case basis. An appreciation of Luker is one of the most important things that I’ve taken away from this course!


Leave a Reply

